Tuesday, May 13, 2008

The Backup folder

A while back I wrote a post about a problem we had when trying to STC (Save To Central). The same issue re-surfaced again a few minutes ago, and similar to last time, we were a bit baffled. The network wasn't seeing anyone as accessing the central file, yet no one could STC or create a detached copy for that matter! Everyone working on the project (about 6 structural staff) were shown to be accessing some files in the Backup folder.

So we reluctantly asked IT to close out those people from the Backup folder. You know the feeling....you're just not sure if this is going to solve the issue or cause a major disaster! But we had no other option really. Well lucky for us, it worked once more. Everyone was able to safely STC with no loss of work. Now on to some Yoga....


Share/Save/Bookmark

6 comments:

Anonymous said...

So we reluctantly asked IT to close out those people from the Backup folder.
What do you mean and how do you do it.

Dave Baldacchino said...

Since they do it remotely, I'm not 100% sure. What I know is that IT can typically tell you who is in what folder on the network and what files they're accessing. They can "close out" those users from specific files & folders, which probably means that they reset their permissions so the network doesn't see them as being owners of those elements. So now when you STC and Revit checks if anyone has some specific file in the Backup folder open for writing, it doesn't find any owners and thus finishes STC as expected.

Mike Maloney said...

Dave, so when they STC again, does that allow them to get back to the BACKUP FILE again?

Mike

Dave Baldacchino said...

Mike, with a workset-enabled project, there isn't a "backup file", but there's a way to revert to previously saved versions (at points before STC'ing). The Backup folder contains backup information and permissions. STC'ing can typically be carried out safely when you're required to close users out (revoking permissions).

DaveP said...

Windows Swever has a function on it called the "Open File Management Console" that will tell you who has a file open, and also will let you force it closed. What probably happened was something hiccuped and didn't close out the backup files properly.

Dave Baldacchino said...

Thanks Dave, couldn't have explained it better!

Post a Comment