Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Pesky filters

Recently I’ve come across an issue on various project files and have been unable to pinpoint a cause or figure out how to reproduce the problem on demand.

Basically in a workset enabled project, there are times when during a synchronization with the central file, filters get renamed and a number gets appended at the end. So Filtername becomes Filtername1. The requirement seems to be that there is more than one person working on the project and that the renamed filters are being used in some views where multiple users are making changes. If only one person is working in their local and synchronizing regularly, renaming does not occur.

A peculiar thing that happens in this case is that Revit issues the familiar yellow warning dialog while saving but this message is actually blank and goes away on its own almost instantly. Also, nothing is captured in the journal, which makes troubleshooting really difficult. This was filed with Autodesk Support but due to the difficulty in tracing the root cause, not much can be done about it.

If you have experienced this problem or have managed to put your finger on the cause, please send a comment or email me. Maybe we can provide enough data to uncover the culprit.


Share/Save/Bookmark

17 comments:

Mia said...

Also had this problem, but haven't paid much attention to the circumstances. So far it has only renamed the filter once. Once its "filtername1" it stays that way, (hasn't been changing to "filtername2"). But if I change the name back to "filtername" it will change it back to "filtername1".

Boo.

Dave Baldacchino said...

Thanks Mia. I received a couple other emails confirming the problem, so this is not an isolated incident.

That's the behavior I'm seeing. although I think I did get an instance where it renamed the filter a second time and got the "2" suffix.

Erik said...

We've had the same thing. And they have been renamed multiple times. I think I saw a Filtername7
I seem to remember one of our group saying he didn't notice this behavior if he had already saved to central more than twice in the current session.

I also think it only occurs when you have accessed the Filters dialog in the current session.

I'll check and post back.

Elisa said...

I've had the same issue, I couldn't figure out what it was about. I have renamed them also, and I have also gotten up to the "2" suffix. I'll pay attention more now that I know it's just not weirdness on our part.

Dave Baldacchino said...

Thanks all for your comments. I have also received a few emails stating that they have observed the exact same issue, yet no one seems to be able to figure out exactly what causes it and why sometimes it doesn't occur. Hopefully the Factory will find what's wrong. In the meantime we'll keep observing :)

Chris Heinaranta said...

Dismissed your post until I re-read it today, having the same issue on a project I just got into. I don't think any of the filters I've created since joining it have changed, just the previous ones. Will put it on the radar.

Dima said...

Same here! Basically, I have tried to troubleshoot it an it only occurs when other users are editing a view that has these filters assigned to it. For instance: I am editing Fire Rating Wall filters on my computer in a workshared project and editing our Life Safety view template where these filters are assigned to. If I have another user working in one of the Life Safety views at the same time (where these Fire Rating filters are applied to) once I synchronize it will give me the yellow message and rename my filters with "1" suffix. In the case that nobody from the team currently editing any views that have the filters referenced this renaming accidents would not happen. I guess the factory should know about that. It is just the logistics..

Diana said...

Since this is a couple years old, has anyone found a fix for this yet?

Dave Baldacchino said...

Not that Im aware of. It still happens but I don't believe Autodesk has managed to reproduce this very annoying problem internally. I'm not even sure they acknowledge it is even an issue!

Chris said...

Surely the Factory can track at least their code to find what 'stimulates' the warning and the renaming action?
My inner sleuth has been stimulated. I'll repost with anything I find...

Tim West said...

I think you will find that if you change/add the names of filters from a local file you will get this issue. To resolve, open the central (I know, I know...danger) and rename all your filters(1)

:-)

Tim West said...

Update:
It seems that checking out the 'Filters' Workset stops this from happening...

Simon Boundy said...

Still no solution to this?? 5 years later? where is all my subscription money going?

Ross Reed said...

I can confirm renaming in the central file fixes the problem as tim said... at least for me.

I'm not sure how there's a filters workset though. I didnt know filters could have worksets...

Dave Baldacchino said...

Thanks Ross. I've also seen in the past that after the renaming occurs, if you rename back and e-sync it tends to stick and not get renamed again. As to the Filters workset, that's a system-managed workset just like View worksets and other built-in versions. Revit needs them to keep track of permissions.

Keith Wilkinson said...

Can anyone recreate this error on demand?

Dave Baldacchino said...

Not exactly 100%, but usually when you set up filters in a workshared project, it happens once you sync with central. I've never been able to nail the exact steps to reproduce it with 100% accuracy and the factory says they cannot nail it down (yet everybody reports it). I just don't think they're willing to fix this issue because it's been lurking around for as long as I remember.

Post a Comment